Liking isn’t helping

I found a really great advert the other day which illustrates a bit of what I said in my recent post about the bystander effect.

I find it so offensive when I see posts on social media that say things along the lines of “1 like= 1 prayer, 1 share= 100 prayers” and get even more irritated when I see people getting sucked into the naivety that they are making a difference by liking/ sharing. Our compassion and sympathy are being manipulated and guilt tripped into sharing a photo and encouraging others to do so when really, quite often, it does nothing but spread the issue thinly across the internet.

I have drawn attention to the exceptions (such as the #nomakeupselfie) because I think it is important to note how amazing social media can work when people make the effort to make the change. However, for me liking/ sharing posts that ask for help often cuts corners and make you feel like you are helping, without actually doing anything to help.

Below are some really powerful images that say a lot. I hope they move you in the same way they moved me. If you would like to read move about the “Liking isn’t helping” campaign here is a link to the Huffington Post article which explains more about it.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/06/26/do-not-like-this-facebook-campaign-crisis-relief-singapore-_n_3502844.html

Leave a comment